It's like an act of murder; you play with intent to commit something. -- Duke Ellington
Home / Jazznews / CD from abroad / Maceo Parker Soul Classics
A+ R A-

Maceo Parker Soul Classics

Rate this item
(0 votes)

Renowned Saxophonist Maceo Parker releases a new live album Soul Classics,  through Listen2 Entertainment / Razor & Tie.

Parker reunites with the WDR Big Band for Soul Classics, a collection of nine songs recorded live at the Leverkusener Jazz Festival in Leverkusener, Germany, in November 2011. The recording captures Parker with special guests - bassist Christian McBride and drummer Core Coleman-Dunham - in collaboration with the Cologne-based 15-piece orchestra led by conductor/arranger Michael Abene that has previously backed such prominent artists as Ray Charles, Joe Zawinul, Michael and Randy Brecker, and many others.


"As I get older, it becomes increasingly important that I chase moments that are really fun for me," says Parker. "Working with the WDR Big Band has once again taken me to that peak, just as it did three years ago. I'm so thankful to everyone connected to this project - especially my two sidekicks, Cora and Christian - and to Michael Abene for the great arrangements and for assembling such a spectacular band."



01 — Papa’s Got A Brand New Bag

02 — I Wish

03 — Yesterday I Had The Blues

04 — Higher Ground

05 — Do Your Thing

06 — Rock Steady

07 — One In A Million You

08 — Soul Power

09 — Announcement

10 — Come By And See



Buy the CD

Buy the MP3 Album

Last modified on Friday, 19 September 2014 19:20

Related Video